2012 Worlds Qualification System

ILCA-NA has announced the qualification system for the 2012 Worlds.  Sailors can qualify for the Standard, Radial, Women’s Radial, Junior Radial, 4.7 and Master’s Worlds through their participation at 2011 events.

The Complete 2012 Worlds Qualification System is posted here.  Check out the 2012 planning grid to see where the various World Championships will be held in 2012.

Of most interest will likely be the 2012 Masters Worlds Qualification requirements.  The basic gist of it is that Masters Sailors who have finished well at a major event or participated in Worlds before get first priority, then it moves down to sailors who finished in the top 20% of their fleet at a qualifying regatta.  As of 2011 the Chesapeake Bay Laser Masters Championship is now one of the qualifying regattas so finishing in the top 20% in your age bracket could help qualify you for Worlds.

Questions or thinking about going? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s