2011 Deep Creek Lake Invitational Regatta Results

Fair winds and warm temperatures greeted the Laser racers the weekend of July 23 and 24 for the 2011 Deep Creek Lake Laser Invitational Regatta.

Sixteen Laser Fleet sailors raced six long and challenging races in the vicinity of Holy Cross and Deep Creek Yacht Club, Inc (Deerhaven).  Dave Mahan was the Laser Fleet Principal Racing Officer (PRO); he provided triangle courses with a windward mark finish with marks close enough to shore to provide some interesting and challenging racing in the light winds.  Six races made up the Regatta with racing so close competitors had to wait for the official results to learn the trophy winners.  Darrell Van Hutten locked up first place after facing heavy competition from the DCL Sailing School instructors, local competitors, and several off-Lake sailors.

Fifteen Laser-Junior Fleet sailors raced nine races in separate courses in the vicinity of Deep Creek Yacht Club – Turkey Neck. The Laser-Junior Fleet Principal Racing Officer (PRO), Josh Bullock, provided a variety of races including triangle and windward-leeward courses for the Junior Fleet sailors.  Lively discussions were held by the Junior Fleet sailors on racing rules and tactics. The Junior Fleet has some amazing young sailors, including first place winner Jon Benhart, who will be giving the more experienced sailors in the Laser Fleet a run for their money shortly.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s