Tag Archives: 2013 District 11 Championship

2013 District 11 Championship Results

It was consistency that paid off for Mike Russom (GWYC) and Jessica Bennett(DCYC) in winning the Standard and Radial District 11 Championships at Severn Sailing Association.  The light winds and often lumpy seas challenged the competitors and made it anyone’s race.  34 Standard rigs and 9 Radials completed 6 races out in the Chesapeake Bay.

Saturday’s weather started out with cool temperatures, and overcast skies with a 12-14 knot breeze.  After numerous recalls and restarts by the standard fleet – the first race was finally started having been started under black flag.  The Radial fleet started their first race with 6 of the 9 boats OCS in what would become the drop race for many.  By the 2nd upwind leg the wind was under 10 knots the left over seas were tough to get through.

In the 2nd race the wind dropped a little more and so did the waves.  By now all starts were under black flag.  Mike Russom would go on to put up a 4-1-2 to lead day 1 followed by Eric Reitinger (BBYC) just behind him with 2-2-5.  Margaret Podlich (SSA) stayed out of trouble and led the Radial fleet with 1-4-7.

Following racing the sailors enjoyed a crab feast – what else would they have at the ‘Crab Claw’ regatta?

Sunday’s racing saw smoother waters and slightly less wind.  Jon Deutsch (FBYC), Bill Lawson(SSA) and Brady White (SSA) each took wins in the 3 races for the day in what would lead to a shuffling of the leader board for the Standard fleet.  Black flags further shuffled the fleet and keeping others off the podium.

In the Radial fleet Kim Couranz (SSA), Phillip Schofield (AYC) and Jessica Bennett all won races.  Jesscia’s final race win along with her 2-4 in the earlier races cemented her as the Radial Champion.  Jessica got the triple win as not only the overall champion, but the top female and the top junior. Aaron Helmly finished 2nd while Kim Couranz took 3rd.

With Mike Russom’s win – District 10 sailors have won 3 out of the last 4 District 11 Championships.  (Seriously D11 sailors – we need to do something about that!).  Brady White followed in 2nd and Jon Deutsch(FBYC) won a tie breaker for 3rd.  Karen Long (SSA) was top female and Matthew Menzi top junior in the Standard fleet.

On behalf of District 11 we’d like to thank all of the competitors for coming and making this a great event.  And we’d like to thank Steven Cofer and all of the folks a SSA for everything they did for the regatta.  And finally, thanks again to the regatta sponsors APS, Fawcett Boat Supplies, BoatUS and Sandy Westphal.


2013 District 11 Championship NOR/Registration

The Severn Sailing Association in Annapolis MD is honored to host the Laser District Championships September 28-29 in our newly renovated clubhouse. Dinner will be served on the beautiful wrap around deck with live music and great views of the Annapolis skyline and the Chesapeake. The newly renovated Dark & Stormy café will be serving their signature drink with homemade ginger beer and a free keg to keep the action going off the water.

Racing will be two days for Lasers, Radials and 4.7s (min 6 boats for a fleet) with ILCA-NA grand prix points available for the top finishers.  A significant discount is available for those registering before THURSDAY, September 12, 2013.